top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Ricci

When the daycare days are done...


Dear Daycare Provider,


When I found out I was pregnant with my first baby girl, I immediately started looking into daycares. My husband thought I was crazy for looking so early, but I knew how quickly spots filled up. We met a daycare provider we really liked, but when I was supposed to return to maternity leave, I realized I wasn’t ready. My employer was able to grant me an additional two months leave, but this meant we lost the daycare spot that had been held for us. I was relieved to have the extra time at home, but frantic to find another placement.


Thankfully, a co-worker recommended you. We met and immediately felt it was a good fit. (I mean, we were also pretty desperate!) I looked at my husband while we talked at your dining room table, and I could tell by the look in his eyes that he was comfortable with you. I felt the same way. I cried in your driveway, relieved we had found someone.


On my first day back to work, almost three and a half years ago, I dropped my first baby girl off at your house. She was just shy of five months, and with maybe an exception or two, I hadn’t been away from her for much more than a few hours, never mind a full day. I dropped an overloaded diaper bag and left my baby in your arms. I cried in your driveway, wiping away the tears I didn’t want my students to see.


Over the past few years, your home has become a second home to my daughter. When she was still a baby, you supported my pumping journey and listened to my crazy feeding requests. You held her when she needed to be held, but also helped her to develop the nap routine I hadn’t been able to. As a toddler, you watched her take some of her first steps, you helped her learn some of her first words, and you found a way to balance learning with fun. As she’s continued to grow, you’ve taught her social skills (even when it meant taking away the princess dresses), you’ve listened to her wild stories, and you’ve cultivated a sense of curiosity that I hope she never loses. You’ve changed diapers. You’ve put on sunscreen. You’ve made breakfasts and lunches. You’ve tucked her in at nap time. You’ve kissed boo-boos. You’ve dealt with tantrums. You’ve given hugs. Lots and lots of hugs. Above all, you’ve made my daughter feel safe and loved.


Tomorrow is my daughter’s last day as one of your daycare kiddos, and I hope you know how eternally grateful I am. I’m lucky enough to have my second baby girl still in your care, but there’s something about putting your trust in someone with your first baby that is just so substantial. I hope you know that you’ve earned my trust. When I dropped my daughter off in tears, you’d send me a picture moments later showing me she was happy. When she was sick, you took close care until I could come pick her up. You texted me funny stories and made me feel connected even when I couldn’t be with my baby. Thanks to you, she’s ready for preschool, but it will be the end of a wonderful era. So tomorrow, I will drop my first baby off for the last time. And after that, I’m pretty sure I will cry in your driveway, knowing how lucky I am to have found you.


Love,

A Forever Grateful Mama

345 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page