top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Ricci

SPOILER ALERT: Buti Yoga is Actually BOOTY Yoga


I’m not sure why I didn’t just infer this. Or why I didn’t read the description of the class before I signed up. Both options would’ve saved me, but no. Girl, no.


Lately I’ve been super focused on better self-care and finding more balance in my own life. It’s been really hard as a working mom of two toddler girls, but I made a commitment. I talked with my husband about it. I talked with my therapist about it. Hell, I wrote a blog post about it! I had been in this terrible pattern of making excuses about why I wasn’t taking better care of myself: Seriously? You work all day, then you’re going to go to a spin class and spend another hour away from your kids? None of the class times fit your schedule. You’re going to pay for a class AND a babysitter? You’re so out of shape. You should probably try to do a few workouts at home first. You get it.


I finally had to call BS on myself. I powered up and went to my first yoga class in years. I woke up the next morning feeling like a million bucks! I thought, I should totally keep this momentum going. I’m going to find a class to sign up for today, too! After nursing one kid and pouring a bowl of cereal for the other, I scrolled the MindBody app to see if there were any classes happening when I came across one that looked great: Buti Yoga on the Beach! I’m a beach girl, so this sounded awesome - a morning sea breeze blowing through my Warrior 2 hair - what could be better!? I lathered on some sunscreen, grabbed my mat, left the kids with my husband, and out the door I went!


The instructions for the class said to meet by the coffee shop on the beach. (Again, I think I read everything but the description of the class.) Well, across from the coffee shop is a beautiful covered pavilion. Yup, I would actually be taking this class on stage. I should’ve taken some cues about the class itself when the music playing was Beyonce instead of flutes and running streams, but no. Class began, and as we headed into downward dog, the instructor called something like, “Now shake it out!” What?! Shake it out? Like, twerk from my downward dog?! (I know, Buti instructors, it’s not technically twerking!!) To make matters worse, remember that coffee shop I referenced? Well, practically all of the students at my high school work there. So here I am. On stage. Doing a downward dog twerk. In front of what feels like my entire student body. And every other beachgoer.


But you know what? I did it. I could’ve totally faked a hamstring injury or an emergency call about my kids and bolted, but I didn’t. I could’ve made another excuse for myself, but I instead “spiraled” away. Like I said, I made a commitment. Was I uncomfortable? Yes. Did I look awkward as all get out? Probably. But did I get a hell a work out? YES. Did I have an instructor who was empowering and encouraging (despite my awkwardness)? Totally! Will I do it again? I actually might! (Just maybe in the studio next time!)


I might not have known what I was getting myself into that morning, but what’s important is that I took a huge step out of my comfort zone, and sometimes, when you’re trying to break old habits and establish new ones, you’ve got to do that. It’s going to be uncomfortable at times, and that’s okay. If it’s totally comfortable, totally normal, you’re not making a change; and you’re definitely not making growth. Girl, it’s okay to feel a little weird sometimes. Especially if it’s pushing you toward a better you! As I learned from the instructor, “Buti” means “a secret cure” in Maranthi. Maybe taking some steps outside of my comfort zone is part of my own cure. But let me be clear, sis: “Buti” is just not just some pretty, eastern yoga term. If you sign up for a Buti Yoga class, your booty will be very involved - and it will definitely thank you later!

197 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page